National Arts Month 2015

DSC_0852DSC_0892

February is one of my favorite months not because of Valentine’s Day but because of National Arts Month! Pursuant to Presidential Proclamation 683, issued in 1991, February is a month of celebrating Filipino talents and our very own culture and arts.

The theme of National Arts Month 2015 is “Highlighting Local Cultural Genius to Promote Pride of Place”. Organized by The National Commission for Culture and the Arts, last February 1, 2015 was the official opening of the one month celebration, held at Luneta Park.

DSC_0879DSC_0868DSC_0954

The opening ceremony featured a parade of Higantes representing different forms of Arts in the Philippines such as Cinema, Architecture, Visual Arts etc. Many people had their photos taken with the Higantes and they were all smiles while watching the festive parade. I even found myself tapping my feet and smiling while watching children dancing to the beat of the parade.

Aside from that, there was also an exhibit of Komiks Yaring Pinoy, where Filipino and foreign comics were mounted on the park area beside the open-air auditorium. Free-caricature making and live art was done by the participating artists. I wanted to have my portrait done but my friend was in a hurry and the line was loooong so I just watched the artists sketch their way. Someday, I hope to be able to draw as fast as they do.

DSC_0962DSC_0977

Before the program for the night started, Cinemarehiyon films and cartoons were shown to entertain the audience while waiting for the main event.

The highlight of the event were the performances held at the Open Air Auditorium. Presentations by Halili-Cruz School of Ballet, Culture Arts Council of Korea (CACK), Spyro’s yo-yo exhibition and my favorite part of the show was Ony Carcamo’s puppet show with his puppet friend, Nonoy. I enjoyed watching different performances from all over the country.

DSC_1026

Since February is National Arts Month, expect more festivals, shows and exhibits. There are a lot to see! Also, expect more of Arts and Music festival posts for the entire month because of all the exciting, arts-y events this month. Aside from attending all these festivities, there are many things you can do to participate for National Arts Month. You can paint, visit museums and heritage churches, watch films or create something new!

“If you ask me what I came to do in this world, I, an artist, will answer you: I am here to live out loud.”
―Emile Zola

Leave a Reply

