Chinese New Year 2015 in photographs

DSC_1335DSC_1338DSC_1367DSC_1352

Kung Hei Fat Choi! Or Happy Chinese New Year!

Last February 19, 2015, I joined a group of photographers for a photowalk! It was part of my bucket list, alongside celebrating Chinese New Year. Two firsts in one day! I had so much fun roaming around the busy streets of Binondo and capturing photographs of people and of everything Tsinoy. It was so festive! There were street performances everywhere + a whole ton of red dressed people and photographers too.

DSC_1360DSC_1395

Since it was my first time to celebrate Chinese new year, I decided to watch all the performances that I could see. Of course, dragon dances are a must. There were also a lot of noise and bustle and firecrackers to drive away bad luck and evil spirits (uyy, nagresearch! ;p). As a “virgin” amongst these festivities, I found myself mesmerized with all the things happening in Binondo.

DSC_1389

This cute Chinese kid was made my day!

DSC_1372 DSC_1381 DSC_1385

Colorful charms to set of for 2015!

DSC_1421 DSC_1445 DSC_1448 DSC_1450 DSC_1454

Media men laughing at themselves and taking photos with other photographers.

DSC_1462

Little drummer boy!

Another thing about Chinese New Year was trying out different Chinese delicacies. Too bad I wasn’t able to do that last Thursday. I would surely come back to Binondo to try different Chinese food on the streets!

An awesome day it was, despite the dripping sweat and tired feet. Eventually, I got really tired from the heat, the smoke and the noise. But I did have fun and the bonus was I made a lot of new friends. I was the youngest among the photographers so I was really shy at first. But these photographers were really friendly so I didn’t have a hard time the whole day!

I look forward to more adventures and photowalks this 2015. It’s always a great thing to expand your horizons and get out of your comfort zone.

If you want to shoot with me, just message me or leave an email! chenv20@yahoo.com, let’s catch up and shoot, yes? 🙂

Leave a Reply

