On Giving Back: Celebrating my 21st with the Children

header

“And whatever you do, in word or deed, do everything in the name of the Lord Jesus, giving thanks to God the Father through him.” -Colossians 3:17

Another year has been added into my life; I am now officially 21! I’ve always wanted to celebrate my birthday this way- through an outreach activity. The original plan was to celebrate in an orphanage but due to time constraints plus lack of budget (we were only able to plan for two weeks), we had to think of something more manageable. Since we’ve been conducting outreach programs in our church before, we decided to do an outreach program in a nearby barangay instead.

We were all excited since we haven’t had an outreach activity for almost two years already. The youth ministry from our church together with some of our church leaders helped us come up with a plan to make this event possible.

DSC_3933DSC_3937

Praying with the team before the event starts.

DSC_3939DSC_3948 DSC_3964

Kids arriving for registration! 

It was a bright Sunday afternoon and the team went to set-up everything around 2pm. It was fun to see everyone helping each other, from the setting up of the tent, to arranging the chairs and assisting the children as the kids arrived. The kids were all smiles as they looked forward to the birthday party that was about to happen.

I liked the kids here, they were very disciplined. They lined up properly while waiting in line. They were polite and sweet as they hugged us as they arrived.

DSC_3952DSC_4010DSC_4009

The kids singing and dancing to the song “batis”, lead by the CBC-Youth.

DSC_4138

Hosted the program with Michelle! 

DSC_4114DSC_4041DSC_4100

Fatima led the storytelling. She told the story of how Jesus cured blind Bartimaeus. Everyone was listening, even the parents and the volunteers.

There were singing and dancing when the program began led by my churchmates. It was fun seeing the kids sing and dance with smiles on their faces.

The highlight of the event was the storytelling. Everyone was enticed by Fatima, who told the story of how Bartimaeus was relieved from blindness by Jesus. It’s always a great thing to share the gospel of God to these children.

DSC_4121DSC_4122

Cake blowing with the October celebrants!

DSC_4146DSC_4147

The last part of the event was the cake blowing with the other birthday celebrants. My other friends and the children who also celebrated their birthday for the month of October blew the candles from the cupcakes together. Later on, with the help of the volunteers, we distributed the food and gifts for the children.

DSC_4180DSC_4186

I was overwhelmed with so much happiness as the program ended. As we prepared to egress, my heart was filled with so much joy, knowing that we were able to share God’s word and make these children happy. One of my favorite moments would be when some children gave me handwritten cards and letters. I love receiving handwritten letters and the simple gesture made me almost cry out of so much joy.

There’s always this unexplainable glee that can never be replaced after making other people happy. Of my 21 years of existence, I could say that this is one of the best birthdays I ever had. The original plan was to give back. However, I think after all these, I was the one who gained more from them. They taught me so much about being thankful & happy in all things and they made me realize how blessed I am.

“…Remembering the words the Lord Jesus himself said: ‘It is more blessed to give than to receive.” -Acts 20:35b

2 thoughts on “On Giving Back: Celebrating my 21st with the Children

Leave a Reply

