More than just Tarsiers: Countryside tour of Bohol

aaheader

Back in grade school, my favorite subject was Social Studies wherein I learned about the different provinces of the Philippines. Usually, we would associate these places with different landmarks and Philippine treasures. Growing up, the first two things that would come to mind when Bohol is mentioned would be: 1) The Chocolate Hills and 2) Tarsiers. That’s the reason why when I learned that our family would be visiting Bohol, I didn’t really have expectations.

Hence, Bohol proved me wrong. It was one of the most beautiful places I’ve ever been to!

DSC_5877.jpg

DSC_5989.jpg

For this post, I will be talking about the countryside tour. My mom knew someone from Bohol and he helped us get a tour driver who took us around this beautiful province for three days. Our driver was Kuya Junjun and he helped us navigate Bohol with ease.

For someone who has been exposed to Manila’s traffic and sea of buildings, Bohol’s countryside was indeed a breath of fresh air! There was so much green all around us. The views changed as we drove along– from green fields to rows and rows of trees until we reached our destination.

A chocolate hill up-close and personal thanks to the ATV that we rode around the vicinity.

Seeing the famous Chocolate Hills in person was an unforgettable experience. After only seeing them in postcards and books, I finally got to see them in person.

My brother and I tried the ATV ride wherein we were able to go around some of the hills. Then, we went up the Chocolate hills complex wherein we climbed the 200 + steps to see the hills from the top. The climb was worth it because the view was just purely majestic!

DSC_5938IMG_2372

DSC_5963DSC_5958I was also taken in awe by the man-made forest in Bilar. It was along the highway so I wans’t able to take much photos since my parents were in a hurry. The man-made forest was a reforestation plan started in 1947 and continued by the succeeding administrations.

DSC_5976I didn’t bring my zoom lens and only had my 50mm so I wasn’t able to take decent photos of the tarsiers. Still, it was one of the highlights of my Bohol trip! I was really curious as to what these creatures look like in person and seeing them in their natural habitat was an unforgettable experience for me.

DSC_5988.jpgDSC_5986

My favorite part of the trip was the Loboc River Cruise. I remember watching the film Bamboo Flowers and I was mesmerized by the beauty of Loboc, Bohol. Since I was already in there, it is a must for me to experience the river cruise. My parents were pretty stoked too because of the lunch buffet and the one-of-a-kind tourist-y experience. Imagine seeing the beautiful sights of Loboc, River while eating delectable Filipino food, and listening to locals serenade you on cruise? Definitely a must try!

DSC_5992DSC_5997DSC_6004.jpgDSC_6000

The very talented kids of Loboc.

DSC_6021.jpgDSC_6011What a wonderful place Bohol was. I guess before this trip, I wasn’t really looking forward to anything but the surprises that Bohol has to offer kept on coming. I hope to be able to come back and try most of the activities though.

Like what they say, wherever you go becomes a part of you, somehow. And just like all the places I’ve been to, Bohol will have a special place in my heart.

 

Leave a Reply

