National Museum, Manila

There’s something about History and Art that I just couldn’t resist. If given a choice between going to the mall or going to a museum, I’d choose the museum every single time. I looooooove museums! The historical connection between the past and the present just feels so magical, it can transport you to different places and different times.

So luckily, before the June ended (and before the two-month long free entrance to National Museum), my Friend, Hazel and I were able to pay a visit to this place.

DSC_2295DSC_2294

The National Museum of the Philippines used to be the Old Legislative Hall before World War II. Today, it houses treasures of our culture and history. I honestly believe that in order to understand and connect with a country’s culture, aside from talking to locals and basking on to the streets and traveling to far flung place, one must also visit museums. There is nothing like seeing remains of what happened in the past.

The glorious spolarium DSC_2264DSC_2148

My friend, Hazel and I paid a visit to National Museum once and for all after weeks of postponed plans. I’ve always wanted to explore this place and see the different artworks by our National Artists + to discover more about my culture.

DSC_2190DSC_2241 DSC_2257 DSC_2239

Luckily, while observing paintings, we stumbled upon this guide who was touring a family. We listened to her and one of the paintings she explained was The Parisian Life by Juan Luna. I was mesmerized just by standing there and listening, knowing the various interpretations and history of this “controversial” painting which now costs.. *gasp* 200 million.

DSC_2249 DSC_2291 DSC_2197DSC_2210

My friend and I celebrated triumphs that day: Passing the Civil service exam and getting our ~salaries~ as now official working girls. And we celebrated differently: we went to a museum! It was so fun, though honestly one whole day is not enough to explore this beauty.

11180320_10206441758830094_4149168423321149221_nDSC_2147DSC_2393 DSC_2319 DSC_2324

We also explored the other component of The National Museum which was the Museum of the Filipino People. Hazel enjoyed this more compared to the National Museum though I must say I enjoyed both. As a writer and an artist, I like to imagine what happened in the past, who held this cup, who wore this dress, was he a highly respected man who fell in love with a servant? So many thoughts and so many stories go on in my mind while wandering around the place.

DSC_2398 DSC_2312DSC_2194

National Museum is the place to be! Don’t worry, the entrance is relatively cheap! And, it’s free on Sundays. I hope more teens and adults visit this place to reconnect with the past instead of going to the malls every week. It’s not so bad to explore this awesome place for one weekend, right?

National Museum is at Taft Ave, Ermita, Manila, 1000 Metro Manila.


Leave a comment